Wednesday, July 11, 2007

EU IP action against 5 Member States

The EU Commission are suing France, Germany, Luxembourg, Portugal and Sweden for their failure to implement the IPR enforcement directive.

"The Commission has decided to refer the following five Member States to the European Court of Justice over their failure to communicate national measures implementing Directive 2004/48/EC on the enforcement of intellectual property rights: France, Germany, Luxembourg, Portugal and Sweden. The deadline for implementation expired on 29 April 2006. Although reasoned opinions were sent to all those Member States in October 2006 (see IP/06/1354), no national implementing measures have yet been communicated to the Commission."

No comments: